I used to use stock screeners like the one at Google Finance to find stocks with low debt and share prices low relative to book value.

Whenever I found a stock trading on a United States exchange that looked promising, I then checked Insider Cow to see share ownership by insiders.  I then checked the Securities and Exchange Commission for quarterly reports (Form 10-Q), annual reports (Form 10-K), and the compensation that insiders paid themselves (Form DEF 14A).

I now like Canadian stocks a lot, so I use Canadian Insider to find which stocks have recently enjoyed purchases by their insiders.

If I see a Canadian stock that looks promising, I enter the symbol into Google Finance and look at the company balance sheet.  If I see zero debt and a market capitalization low relative to book value, then I visit the company’s web site to get details on the company’s assets.  I also visit SEDI to see what percent of the company insiders own.  I lastly visit SEDAR to review financial statements, Management Discussions and Analyses, and the Management Information Circular for the compensation that insiders pay themselves.

