Are you in the top 1%?  Are you the smartest person in the room?  The answer is likely yes, if you subscribe to this blog.

The snapshot below shows that through now, this blog has enjoyed 4,615 visitors, but only 41 of them have chosen to follow this blog:

followercount

 

In other words, you have to be a certifiable sideshow to continue reading past this sentence . . . PERVERT!

But before you apply for a job at a circus, consider this: “99% of individual traders are lagging the index benchmark” for stock markets:

mostlagindexfunds

 

Can you beat the markets by hiring help?  The odds are against it because, as you can see above, 90% of mutual funds lag the markets.

So if you are among the 99% who cannot keep up with the markets through active trading, index funds are the way to go.  If you dare believe that you are among the 1% of weirdos who can beat the markets, consider these points:

thecompetition

 

I considered the above points back in 2006 when I stopped paying for investment advice, and put all my assets into index funds.  I was looking forward to decades of working, saving, and happily accumulating capital no faster than the markets appreciated.  But my mind wandered . . .

Am I really nothing more than a head of cattle?  Is my best path through life with the human herd?  Dare I depart?  The odds opposed me, but I noticed things.

Follow this blog for future posts on how I dared go my own way, beat the odds, and outperformed the markets by a lot.

